In the grounds of the Minster an unusual three sided sundial increases the range of the clock beyond twelve hours to cover all daylight hours. This supplements the two clock bells with a Quarter Jack. During the Napoleonic War the original monk was replaced by a Grenadier. The Minster was declared a Royal Peculiar in 1318 which remained until 1846 when it was abolished. The central tower once had a spire but the Minster still boasts a chained library and a crypt part of which contains the burial vault of the Bankes family of Kingston Lacy.