The ancient Saxon church was either demolished or enlarged in 1201 using some red sandstone from the former Roman Fort at Waterbrook. A north aisle was added in the 16th Century creating an exceptionally wide church with a ‘forest of pillars’. Items of interest include an ornate font cover and a helmet and sword hung high on the north wall probably belonging to Sir Roger Bellingham or as legend has to ‘Robin the Devil’ The Bellingham Chapel contains a corona entitled the ‘Crown of Thorns’ with a tapestry by Theo Moorman behind the alter. The Romney Chapel commemorates one of this country’s foremost portrait painters.
Visit the church http://www.kendalparishchurch.co.uk